
San Marco FAQ by Iain Cheyne. Amended 3 November 2002. 

Alan Moon made a post to About Board Games with three of these answers. I got the rest from 

news:rec.games.board and Spielfrieks. 

In the three-player game, in what order are the two bridges 

placed? 

The first player places one, then the second player places one, then the third player, then the first 

player again, etc (1-2-3-1-2-3). 

In a three-player game, is the starter always the distributor 

and are the other two randomly selected to be first/second 

decision-makers? 

Yes 

When I use the Doge card, how many districts am I allowed 

to move him? 

You can move him to any district on the board, if there are enough bridges. 

When playing the Doge card and moving over other players' 

bridges, the rules state, �he must pay one prestige point to 

the player who owns the bridge for each such bridge he 

uses.� What does this mean? 

The player owning the bridge moves one up the prestige ladder and the player crossing the 

other's bridge moves one back down the prestige ladder. 

If I want to go move the Doge to a district that has no 

bridges, but there is a bridge connected to the Doge�s 

district, connecting to a third district, can I pay two points to 

go to the unconnected district? 

You have to go over a bridge if you want to move the Doge, unless there are no bridges 

connecting to the Doge�s current district. So, in the case described you cannot get to the 

unconnected district. 

At the start of the game, can you go into negative points in 

order to move the Doge? 

http://forums.about.com/ab-boardgames/messages?lgnF=y&msg=1431.1
news:rec.games.board
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/spielfrieks


Yes. You can go into deficit by moving your marker back from the start space (the zero space). 

You can do this to move the Doge across bridges, or canals with no bridge. 

What happens to the starting player order when the next 

starting player misses the final round in the first or second 

passage? 

For that last round, you simply go to the next player around the table. For the first round of the 

next passage, continue around the table, skipping the early dropout. 

The rules say that if a player is without aristocrats in his 

own reserve, he may use his own cards to transfer 

aristocrats on the board. How does this work? 

Take your own pieces off the board and immediately play them back onto the board, according 

to the usual placement rules: they go in the area on the card, or any adjacent area connected by 

one of your own bridges. 

How is the final passage scored? 

On the final scoring in San Marco, you score every region, regardless of whether the Doge is 

present or not. 

If everyone goes over ten limit points, no one gets any bonus 

points. However, if everyone goes over ten limits points does 

the lowest point total still get to perform a banishment? 

No. All bonuses (including the banishment) to only apply to players with fewer than ten points. 

Unanswered Question. The answer is my opinion. 

The four-player game rules say that no more than three 

bridges from different players are allowed between two 

districts. As this has no effect upon play in the three-player 

game, should only two bridges from different players be 

allowed between districts? 

Because the rules do not explicitly state this, it should be played as a variant. 
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